Celiac disease can be an inconvenient dietary restriction but thankfully, it doesn’t cut out everything tasty. In fact, a lot of Vietnamese cuisine is gluten-free or close to. If you have celiac disease or just prefer to avoid eating gluten, you won’t have any trouble with Vietnamese food.
Done right, the food in Vietnamese cooking is always delicious, healthy, and heavily based around ingredients like rice, rice flour, and rice noodles – most of which contain little to no gluten. Furthermore, what isn’t already gluten-free can most likely be made so with a few alterations. Customizations in Vietnamese cuisine are very common, turning traditional dishes like pho into trendy, energized varieties perfect for all sorts of diets. Add in some alternatives here and there, and Vietnamese may in fact prove to be a perfect diet for a person with celiac disease.
Is pho gluten-free?
The most common question about eating gluten-free in Vietnamese cuisine is whether pho is gluten-free. Pho comes in many different types – some of which are gluten-free. There aren’t opportunities to really add gluten-based products to pho to begin with so even varieties that aren’t marketed as ‘gluten-free’ are still only going to contain very little.
Do keep in mind that sometimes the broth or soup base for pho can contain gluten, and depending on the noodles used, there’s also the risk of gluten-containing noodles. If possible, ask ahead what’s included in your bowl of pho. Note, if the noodles are ‘bun noodles’, it means they’re made from rice and are gluten-free.Read More